The School of Dentistry is one of the five schools of the Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS) which became a fully fledged University in 2007. The school started as a Division of Dentistry within the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Dar-es-Salaam in 1979, after a felt need for production of Tanzanian dentists who were suitably trained to address oral health problems of Tanzanians.

The School has three departments namely;

  1. The Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery,
  2. The Department of Orthodontics, Pedodontics and Community Dentistry and;
  3. The Department of Restorative Dentistry

Postgraduate (MDent) programmes started in 1986 whereby the first batch graduated in 1989. The postgraduate programmes were then frozen until 2002 when they were re-started.

Currently the School of Dentistry is running four Postgraduate Programmes as follows;

  1. Oral and maxillofacial surgery
  2. Restorative Dentistry
  3. Community Dentistry
  4. Paediatric Dentistry.

All programmes in the School are following competency based curricula that incorporate other non-knowledge and non-skill competences to impart more of attitude values desirable of clinicians in the field of dentistry. These competencies are: relationship with patient/client, relationship with colleagues, teaching skills, maintaining good practice, systems-based practice, and professionalism. Adding up to the other two traditional competences: professional knowledge and clinical skills makes a total of eight MUHAS competences. The teaching and assessment methods have also been intensely revised, diversified and improved to line-up with these competences. The School’s clinical rooms and laboratory for teaching of students and clinical services to patients were refurbished few years ago to make it one of the dental schools with the best facilities in the region.Readmore