This institution was established in July 1974 as Department of Pharmacy in Faculty of Medicine with assistance of a grant from British council. The first intake of 16 students had to take most of their first year basic science courses at the main Campus of the University of Dar es Salaam, together with B.Sc. General, B.Sc. Education and B.Sc. Geology students. Since then we have been producing quality pharmacists who are now the backbone of the Health care system in Tanzania and neighboring countries.

The Faculty of Pharmacy was established in 1991 under constituent College of the University of Dar es Salaam, which became the Muhimbili University College of Health Sciences (MUCHS) in 2000. In the year 2003, in line with the drive for MUCHS to become a full-fledged University, the Faculty of Pharmacy was accorded a School status in preparation for expansion of its functions. The school continues to exist after the establishment of a full-fledged university Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS). The school is confined in a 2 storey building that was constructed in 1977.

Master of Pharmacy

  1. Pharmaceutical Microbiology
  2. Hospital  and Clinical Pharmacy
  3. Medicinal Chemistry
  4. Quality Assurance/Quality Control
  5. Industrial Pharmacy
  6. Pharmacognosy

Master of science

  1. Pharmaceutical Management

Read More…